Inaccurate Rating

I played in uscf tournament from ages 8-11, but never really studied the game or improved at all, so my rating when I quit was only around 1050. I didn’t play chess again until my first year of college, where I started playing online a lot (never OTB). My online rating started around 1100, but over the last four years my strength has continued to improve, and am currently at 2000 blitz on chess.com and above 2000 blitz and classical on lichess. I recently renewed my uscf membership and want to start playing again, but I’m not sure how the rating is calculated after such a long absense. My profile says I am still technically 1068 uscf, but based on my online ratings I’m probably at least 1500-1700 strength by now. Will my rating be considered provisional once I start playing OTB again? I would feel bad stealing other player’s rating points by being significantly underrated.

Don’t feel bad. The rating system has built-in bonus, feedback, and multi-pass features, all designed to get an improving player up to his proper rating ASAP, and to avoid punishing his opponents with his low rating.

It makes no difference whether your rating is considered provisional or established. Either way, it will affect your opponents’ ratings. Just play chess and let the ratings geniuses deal with your and your opponents’ ratings.

Bill Smythe

And be prepared to have some players quite unhappy about losing rating points to you.

‘Once Rated - Always Rated’ is so ingrained into US Chess culture and history that I don’t see it changing soon.

Online ratings tend to be on the high side compared to OTB ratings, and the studies we’ve done of them suggest they may not be very reliable.