Suggestions for getting a collegiate USCF tournament started

Hi there. I’m fairly new to USCF rated chess (currently playing in my first ongoing tournament, so no rating yet), and I’m a member of a collegiate club (not the same club as the one hosting the tournament I’m in). Our college club is considering starting to host rated tournaments and I was hoping to get some advice on how best to proceed.

Our situation is this: we currently have two casual game days per week, at which about 20-30 people show up (5-10 die-hard regulars, with additional “revolving” participants), and the club roster is somewhere around 100 members. We have easy access to space on campus, so could reserve a room for a week night meeting for a few hours at no cost.

A handful of our members (5-10) have USCF ratings (mostly obtained from playing at the club in our neighboring city which hosts weekly tournament games - but many of the students don’t have cars and can’t make it to those games).

Presumably, one of these members could become a “Club TD” and could start running tournaments, correct?

I think this would probably be a popular idea, so we’d likely have a situation where for the first tournament, we might have 20 people show up, only 3-5 of whom have a rating. How big of an issue is this?

I’d consider approaching the TD of our neighboring club to assist with our first few attempts, but I’d assume he already has enough going on running his own club events… However, we might at least be able to entice some of the club members to join us so we’d have more rated players involved.

I’d appreciate any advice you could offer on how to get started in this situation.

Thanks,
Scott