Best Endgame Books

I’m looking to try to improve my endgame play. Based on my play on Chessmaster, I’m basically on the border of Class E/D. I have Silman’s Complete Endgame Course, Larry Evan’s Endgame Quiz, and Starting Out: Pawn Endgames. I’m strongly considering buying Starting Out: Minor Piece Endgames and Starting Out: Rook Endgames.

Does anyone have any suggestions of what books might be good buys, or maybe even some software that is good for endgame training?

Thanks in advance,
Scott

Just focus on the Silman endgame book. At your level, understanding basic endings is all you really need to focus on.

I studied the middle game a while back, and realized that studying the engame, at a level above the basic endings, isn’t so much about memorizing specific endings like the Lucena Position or Philidor Position, but rather understanding spacial relationships. Basically when you start to get better in the middle game, you can use your endgame knowledge to try and manuver the game into an ending you can win.

It becomes more apparent when you go through the book “Reasses Your Chess”, that good middlegame knowledge can help you form plans that last to you get to the endgame.

Lower level players often play the opening, then the middle game, then the ending without a clear understanding of the transitions between them. Especially the lower level players often try and play for either an opening trap, or keep looking for some game winning tactic (due to an opponent blunder) to win. Reasses Your Chess explains and teaches how to formulate plans that make tactical opportunities possible even when your opponent is playing very good. (its all relative anyway. Lets face it, Rybka can find middle game tactical crushers against GM level players).