Chess Instruction--Learning Disabilities

For years now, i have been looking for materials dealing with the teaching/application of
chess in learning disability situations. Because I was able to marginally help a “slow” child,
his parent gave me out as a reference to several of their friend. My degree is in Marketing,
with a bunch of hour in general psychology/not children’s psychology a really different field.

Anyone have any idea of where I can turn to for resource material??

Rob Jone

After giving your question some thought I turned to the mighty Google.

google.com/#q=teaching+ches … bled+youth

I hope one of the choices from this link helps. Whatever you did to help the one youth might just be your overall best method though. Keep up the good work!

One of the things to recognize is that the learning style of many of these players is more tactile than visual or aural. They love to hold the pieces. Any demonstration of a concept should allow them to make the moves themselves on a chessboard. They tend to learn better this way. However, each child is different and you have to be conscious of recognizing their individual abilities. My experience is that individual attention or very small group work are more effective than large group instruction with the types of players you are addressing. Have them play more than receive instruction; make occasional suggestions while they play. It may seem a slow process, but these kids love chess more than the geniuses do. They respond to your enthusiasm for the game.

Yes this is key. Small group settings are better for overall ‘class’ teaching. Now, for teaching firm organizers, huge classroom settings using demo boards is a whole lot more
profitable.

Rob Jones

Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education, 10th edition.