First visit to a chess club - please advise!

Hello,

I’m an adult beginner (50 years old) who would like advice about going to a chess club for the first time. I thought it would be better to post this here, instead of under the “Chess Clubs” rubric, since it is not an organizational issue.

The small amount I already know about chess is immensely intriguing and enticing. I’ve wanted to learn how to play for a long time and have finally gotten into “carpe diem” mode and feel quite motivated. Although I am now only able to play on a beginning level, I am very keen to learn and am presently studying Volume I of GM Lev Alburt’s “Comprehensive Chess Course,” as well as using a bottom-of-the-line Saitek chess computer (can win sometimes). This spring, I joined the USCF and am trying to get as much as I can out of reading the more basic articles in Chess Life, trying out some of the positions on the chessboard and seeing what I can glean from them. It would be great to play against others face-to-face; of course I’d love to win but I don’t mind losing, as long as I can learn something from the experience and whoever beats me does not make me feel too humiliated!

As of now, I don’t personally know anyone who plays chess. So this weekend, I plan to visit a chess club for the first time and am seriously considering joining it for after-work and weekend play. Have looked at its website and the photos show only men players – didn’t see any women at all, which seems a little intimidating – but I am willing to go there and give it a try.