Pairing Issue

So, it’s round 2 of a four-round Swiss. After round one, there are three players with 1.0. Here’s a summary for those three players and the top player in the 0.5 group:

Player A (2200) 1.0 W
Player B (2183) 1.0 B
Player C (2147) 1.0 W
Player D (2118) 0.5 B

We expected that player C would be the odd man, producing these pairings:

B vs. A
D vs. C

However, the computer program (SwissSys 9.01) did this:

D vs. A
B vs. C

The question is why. There are no problems at all with the pairings on the lower boards. None of the four players have “do not pair” requests. Player A does have a requested half-point bye for round 4 but I don’t see how that should make a difference. Does anyone have an idea?

– Hal Terrie

I’m not an expert of the problem of 6 players in a 4-round Swiss, but there are problems, I believe, in the 3rd round where no legal pairings can be found. Perhaps the computer is attempting to solve that problem. That’s my only knowledge on this. I don’t know why that happens, but others will, hopefully, opine.

Check the pairing program to see if Harkness odd-man pairings are set.

I believe the only reason SwissSys would make those pairings is if the “Weikel oddman pairings” option is checked in the pairing rules dialog.

ETA: I see Mr. Wiewel has mentioned this possibility, albeit with the “Harkness pairings” option that WinTD uses.

As usual, we’d have to see the complete crosstable (all scores, all ratings, all opponents, all colors) to have an intelligent discussion. Please furnish this.