Scholastic Chess

Some of us from the Ohio University Chess club have agreed to help out with a chess program at a local elementary school. Although I once helped out at a scholastic tournament, I have no experience actually running one. Would all the players have to be USCF members? I can’t remember what the time controls were, but I know there were no clocks in use. How much time should generally be allotted for a game at this level?
I am a club TD and am the contact person for the OU affiliate. Can I set up a local scholastic tournament and submit results through the OU affiliate?
Thanks for your help.
Richard

If all the players are in grade 3 or lower, any affiliate can run a K-3 JTP event.

A scholastic affiliate (an ID that begins with the letter H) can run an in-school K-12 JTP event for the players in THAT ONE SCHOOL.

In either type of JTP event, all players must be in the appropriate grades, which means adults cannot be used as house players. The players do not have to be USCF members, but they do have to have USCF IDs.

So how does one become a scholastic affiliate, and how do we get non-member children USCF IDs?

Whoops, sorry, I found the USCF Guide to Scholastic Chess. It seems to answer all of my questions.

Fantastic! Thanks for getting involved.

Come on in, the water’s fine! I appreciated so much those who helped me get started… now that I’ve run a few, I’d be happy to talk things over with you, feel free to email me (grant@neilley.com). But to answer a few specific questions…

You don’t have to be a scholastic affiliate to run and submit scholastic tournaments. But if you wanted to have the whole thing rated without requiring USCF memberships, and if ALL the players will all be from the same school, then you could get a separate scholastic affiliate to qualify for the JTP program Mike mentioned.