Is the 50 move rule now the 75 move rule?

What’s the status on draws by x moves and repetitions x times?

Are you talking USCF or FIDE?

There is no change for player claims. FIDE allows the arbiter to claim after five fold repetition or after 75 moves without a capture or pawn move.

Alex Relyea

Would it be more accurate to say FIDE allows the arbiter to declare a game a draw rather than ‘claim’? Can the arbiter’s declaration be appealed?

Yes. I misspoke. I don’t think so.

Alex Relyea

Yes an arbiters decision can be appealed. That’s what appeals committes are for and an appeal process (application / form and fee).

I was talking FIDE, but rule changes there put pressure on USCF rules down the road.

I think the discussion has answered my questions. As I understand it now, these new numbers only relate to direct intervention by the arbiter, who is not obligated to intervene.

Under FIDE rules the arbiter is much more pro-active than a TD is under USCF rules.

As I understand it, the arbiter is to declare the game draw at that point - not that they may choose to do so.

Now granted the TD has to notice it, but I think this works the same way under FIDE that the arbiter calls the game over upon flag fall.

Sevan can correct me if I am wrong.

Allen is correct here…