Blitz time controls

In theory, G/3 inc/2 should last about the same amount of time as G/5 without delay. In practice . . . well, in practice, I’ve seen slower increment games run more than an hour past the time they were meant to end. How much wiggle room must be allowed around each game in a G/3 inc/2 blitz tournament?

First, I need to say that I have no direct experience running a G/3 inc/2 tournament, so take what I write with a considerable quantity of salt.

I would actually be surprised if a majority of G/3 inc/2 games actually last a full ten minutes. Remember, it will take 60 moves to accumulate two minutes of increment time. How many blitz games actually last 60 moves?

Let’s say the game somehow actually lasts 90 moves (which I would think is highly unusual). Then each player would have accumulated three minutes of increment time, so the total time for the game could be as long as twelve minutes, instead of ten.

It’s true that a slow time control game with increment can run significantly longer than expected. I think that’s because it is not an entirely unreasonable proposition to play a move every 30 seconds or so and basically “live off the increment” for quite a few moves. I remember watching an expert playing a G/90 inc/30 game live off the increment for maybe an hour and a half, and it was actually a rather exciting game. But I think blitz is different; for me, it’s hard to imagine making decent quality moves in two seconds and avoiding a blunder (or an illegal move) that would bring the game crashing down.

So, in the absence of any direct experience, I would guess that the time for the round ought to be about the same for G/5 d/0 or G/3 inc/2.